n00bs - gain structure

43 Replies, 8415 Views

This is from a PM convo with Senator Adam, it may be a bit vague until you get used to things, but it might help...

Macc Wrote:
Senator Adam Wrote:To answer your question I don't have a method with the master fader besides adjusting it so the audio doesn't clip.

i.e. turning it down, right? Grin

Quote:It seems to always work fine for me (my mixes usually sound alright) so I haven't explored much in that area. I know that I need to though, and I will read up on the right methods. Gotta read up on some Bob Katz when I get time.

Do you have any suggestions on what I should read that refers to gain structure in mixing? For some reaon reading about dBs always makes me feel like I'm studying math, and that's what I dreaded most in school...

Regarding the master fader and so on, it isn't so much a matter of sound (although there's a couple of things to mention there) as a matter of ease of mixing. Maybe when it was all noisy and analogue etc ( Lovesmilie ) it was, but not so much now.

ANyway, the BEST advice is simply DO NOT MOVE THE MASTER FADER.

The only times I move the master fader are a) to listen to my mix at different volumes, and b) to avoid clipping at mixdown.

Now I know what you're thinking - 'that's what I do, what you on about?' Grin Lemme explain (I'll try to make this brief, you know what I am like Oops )

What you seem to be doing is: on the left, ie in the channels, applying lots and lots of gain, and then on the right, in the master, taking out loads of gain.

In fact that makes my point pretty well - why bother? Why not make it easy for yourself? You can't say 'it's no hassle' or else you wouldn't have asked the question in the first place, hehe Grin

The benefits of not moving the master are plentiful Smile You know exactly how much headroom you have, or how much you are clipping by. This makes mixing much much easier. But you do need to break the 'turn it up' habit.