producing noob here, whats your opinion of Fruity Loops?

27 Replies, 6167 Views

so I've been messing around with Renoise for a while with considerable frustration.... it's fun but.... I don't think I'm a tracker Grin

yet Fruity Loops I've always liked for years, I love the slicer, the pads, the synths (some old skool sounding shit in there), etc... its straight up simple, and I am a simple man!

I just want to start making deep ambient jungle grooves and it seems like a great program to start. I don't have $$$ for hardware or monitors, etc... I just want something good and easy to get ideas out and have fun.

Is it worth droppin 100 to $150 on? am I gonna want to upgrade later on once I learn all the science, techniques, etc?

Is Cubase or Reason better? Are they worth the $$$?

peace Grin
I'd say it's worth that, yeah. I've not used it in about 10 years (jesus!), but I know people who swear by it. It's a fun program to learn to make music with, as well as being very capable in the right hands.
[Image: protabl3.gif]
Don Cherry Wrote:Every human is blessed in her or his life with one love (passion), no matter how long it may last. This Absolute love will last in one's heart and soul forever.
as much as people knock it because it was a bit of a toy to start with, they actually added loads of features to it so that now it can actually do more than cubase or reason in some ways, so don't be put off by that

if you like it i'd go with it Smile
Really good package now and a great package to learn the art on. Personally I'd have stuck with Renoise if I started making music on it, then I come from making music on the Amiga and trackers so it would be like a home from home.

Gone are the days of the horrible step sequencer in Fruity I think which can only be a good thing.
fl studio is good

dissident uses it, i think.

and most of the psy trance producers in finland Grin