when to use a compressor?

5 Replies, 3258 Views

if a compressor is used to lower the peaks of a kick drum in a drum break, (to raise the overall volume), how do you decide when a compressor is needed (or how do you know when a compressor isn't needed)? I split the kick drum onto a seperate channel and then match the rest of the break up to a similar dB level (-10ish), and this seems to give a much better result than when i've tried using compressors on the whole break. < should i still think of using a compressor on the kick or would i just always leave it raw?

1 last question > how do you decide when to use (or not to use) a compressor on bass

thanks, mark
I'm no expert on compression, I use it in a very un-technical way and compress by ear rather than by theory.

But compression in itself is about catching peaks and raising the average volume of a sound. Across a drum break, and certainly if you're using a few breaks it's often good to have a compressor on a bus / aux send then send all the signals to that aux to gel the breaks all together a little better. We're not talking over compression here just enough to gel.

You raise a good point around splitting off the bassdrum and mixing it separately. Essentially compression is an automated volume technique so mixing separately should achieve a similar result. It doesn't, but theory says it should.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=compres...=firefox-a - < that should give you enough of a starter to explain some questions.

I'm happy for everyone on here to rip apart what I said as it's one part of the mixing process, like I say, I do by ear.